DWI

Anyone can be arrested for DWI in Texas, regardless of age (unlike DUI, for which one must be under the age of 21). A conviction for a DWI charge in Texas can have a devastating impact on your future. You could face steep fines, jail time, driver’s license suspension, community service, and probation. You will also have a permanent criminal record that could impact present and future employment opportunities

Being arrested for DWI does not necessarily mean that it will lead to a conviction. If you are facing charges for a drunk driving violation, it is critical you seek the advise of a defense attorney who is experienced in the field, understands the law and fights to protect your rights. Many people give up their right to a jury trial and enter a plea bargain for probation. However, laws governing DWI dictate this as “straight” probation, which means you cannot get deferred adjudication, ultimately leading to a conviction on your record. Craig Greaves strongly urges going to trial for DWI (unless a good plea offer is made), as it is not uncommon to find weaknesses in the prosecution’s case, which can lead to a dismissal of the case.

PENALTIES FOR CONVICTION OF DWI

Punishment for DWI depends upon the circumstances surrounding the case, as well as any prior DWI or DUI convictions. Charges can range from a Class B misdemeanor to a third degree felony.

1st DWI Conviction
First-time DWI offenders will be charged with a Class B misdemeanor, which means they could be sentenced up to 180 days in jail…
and ordered to pay a fine of up to $2,000.00. Offenders could also lose their license and/or face annual surcharges, up to $2,000.00, to keep their license.

1st DWI Conviction with BAC .15 or Greater
If the offenders BAC is found to be .15 or greater, the charge can be enhanced to a Class A misdemeanor, which carries the same penalties as a second DWI conviction.

2nd DWI Conviction
A second DWI conviction is a Class A misdemeanor, which can result in a jail sentence of up to a year, loss of driving privileges for up to two years, and a fine of up to $4,000.00. Offenders could also face annual license surcharges of up to $2,000.00 for 3 years.

3rd DWI Conviction
A third or higher DWI conviction is classified as a third degree felony and is punishable by up to 10 years in prison, loss of driving privileges for up to two years, and up to a $10,000.00 fine. Offenders could also face annual license surcharges of up to $2,000.00 for 3 years.

DUI

DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE

Only persons under the age of 21 can be arrested for DUI. If an officer testifies that he/she smelled alcohol on a minor’s breath during a traffic stop then the minor will be cited for DUI. This is even true if the officer feels the minor is both below the .08 legal limit and has not lost the normal use of his/her mental facilities, but has consumed any amount of alcohol. A conviction for a DUI charge in Texas…

can have a devastating impact on your future. You could face steep fines, jail time, driver’s license suspension, community service, and probation. You will also have a permanent criminal record that could impact present and future employment opportunities.

Being arrested for DUI does not necessarily mean that it will lead to a conviction. If you are facing charges for a driving under the influence violation, it is critical you seek the advise of a defense attorney who is experienced in the field, understands the law and fights to protect your rights.

PENALTIES FOR CONVICTION OF DUI

DUI Conviction
DUI offenders will be charged with a Class C misdemeanor, resulting in a fine of up to $500.00 and a possible license suspension of up to 180 days.