Prostitution in committed when a person offers any kind of sexual act in exchange for monetary compensation. In some states, prostitution is legal, however Texas is not one of them. Anyone arrested for prostitution in Texas can be charged with a serious sexual offense.
Punishment for prostitution is a Class B misdemeanor, which carries a jail sentence of up to 180 days and a fine of up to $2,000.00
A second time prostitution offense is classified as a Class A misdemeanor, which carries a sentence of up to a year in jail and a fine of up to $4,000.00.
A third time or higher prostitution offense is classified as a state jail felony. Penalties include a prison sentence of up to 2 years and a fine of up to $10,000.00.
If the person solicited is at least 14 but less than 18 years old, the offence becomes a third degree felony, which carries a prison sentence of up to 10 years, along with a fine of up to $10,000.00
If the person solicited is less than 14 years old, the offense becomes a second-degree felony, which carries a prison sentence of up to 20 years along with a fine of up to $10,000.00.
If you have been charged with prostitution, it is vital that you contact our office immediately. Craig Greaves has over 15 years experience defending those accused of prostitution, and can help you navigate the criminal justice system in order to obtain the best possible outcome for your case.